Main Menu

Buried Alive (and to a lesser extent, Dread Return)

Started by Drexlin, 16-03-2010, 03:58:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drexlin

Hello all, I'm new to the Highlander format. I built my first deck recently, without consulting the banned list (my mistake). I decided I wanted to build a reanimator deck because it's one of my favorite archetypes.

So I sat down to play against a friend of mine, whom has been playing Highlander for a while now. Imagine my surprise when I played a Buried Alive and he told me that it was banned! He didn't know why, so I did a quick Google search, found this site and searched the forums for the answer.

So it seems that the combo is using Buried Alive to get Kiki-Jiki, Pestermite, and Karmic Guide. Then use any reanimate card to get back Karmic Guide, then Kiki-Jiki, then copy Karmic Guide to get Pestermite, untap Kiki-Jiki, copy Pestermite, rinse, repeat for infinite Pestermites with Haste. WOW! Cool combo! But the problem, to me, doesn't seem like it's Buried Alive, it's Kiki-Jiki! So why did Buried Alive get the shaft? Is there something else I'm missing?

While searching for my Buried Alive answer, I realized that Dread Return is also banned. This one I don't care as much about, but still seems like an unnecessary banning. Seems like there is a similar combo to the above one where you use Hermit Druid to mill your whole deck, flash back some cards to make cheap creatures (Chatter of the Squirrel and/or Acorn Harvest), then sac them to flash back Dread Return for what I assume is the Karmic Guide/Kiki-Jiki/Pestermite combo.